Looking for assistance with Stellar App, and Skylinks

Wed Feb 12, 2020 3:49 pm

Hi,

I am trying to get 8 L5-C's, and 10 L7c's, to talk to the Stellar app, but I cant seem to do it. I logged into my base station, and made sure that the lights have RDM enabled.

I typically have the Skylink Base station attached to an ETC Ion XE 20 lighting board, with the station connected via the 5-pin DMX output to the board.

My question is, where am i going wrong? Should I change the broadcast mode FROM XLR to the wifi/ethernet option? I get the generic error when looking for ART-Net nodes, but I feel as if this is a skylink specific problem.

I appreciate any feedback.

Thanks,
Fix
Fixxer
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2019 11:15 pm

Re: Looking for assistance with Stellar App, and Skylinks

Tue Feb 18, 2020 11:04 pm

bumping this myself, since i haven't seen any info on this particular setup w/o skypanels involved.

If anyone from the dev team has any info for me, im all ears!

-Fix
Fixxer
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2019 11:15 pm

Re: Looking for assistance with Stellar App, and Skylinks

Wed Feb 19, 2020 4:25 am

Hi Fix,
The Skylink should indeed be set to WiFi/Ethernet when you wish to use Stellar. This setting defines which signal the Skylink uses to communicate to connected devices. This is also true if using SkyPanels in your setup. The base station will then act as your Artnet node.
Unfortunately the Skylink does not facilitate combining multiple sources such as a lighting console and Stellar.
Silvan Liu
Service ARRI East Asia Pacific
Silvan Liu
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2015 7:11 pm
Location: Hong Kong

Re: Looking for assistance with Stellar App, and Skylinks

Tue Mar 10, 2020 11:36 pm

We do not recommend using Stellar in tandem with a console at this point, due to the mode-switching and DMX addressing capabilities in Stellar via RDM. This may interfere with your fixture modes and patching in the console. There are some ways to work around these issues, but they can become a bit complicated if you are not careful:

Allow enough of a DMX footprint between fixtures patched in your console to allow for the number of channels used by any one mode in Stellar. If you wish to use Extended Color Control in Stellar, that footprint could be up to 35 Channels. If you will NOT be using ECC, a minimum of 20 channels would suffice.
Make sure DMX Automatic Layout is turned OFF after discovery. Stellar will use the existing addresses of the fixtures as you have set them to use with your console.
I STRONGLY recommend you do not try to have both your console and Stellar to feed information to the fixtures at the same time, as HTP/LTP issues, along with channel alignment issues when changing modes via Stellar would cause conflicts between the two controllers. Disconnect your DMX output from your console before connecting to Stellar.
Finally, you would need to get the fixtures back to the mode you have patched in the console once you have finished working in Stellar. By default, Stellar uses 16Bit modes. If you are using 8Bit modes, be certain to set that preference each Fixtures RDM setup.
Most people tend to use Mode 6 CCT+RGBW in their consoles. Other Modes Stellar uses are M7-CCT; M10-HSI; M17-Gel; M19-X,Y; and M23-Effects....or their 8Bit equivalents.
I would recommend building a "Look" with each fixture in the mode you have patched in the console with a level of 0%. Execute this look before switching back to your console and quitting Stellar.
You must be VERY cautious if you attempt this, especially if it would be difficult to reach your fixtures should something go awry.
Patrick Schulze
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2018 2:02 am

Return to Stellar App