Looking for assistance with Stellar App, and Skylinks

Fixxer
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2019 11:15 pm

Hi,

I am trying to get 8 L5-C's, and 10 L7c's, to talk to the Stellar app, but I cant seem to do it. I logged into my base station, and made sure that the lights have RDM enabled.

I typically have the Skylink Base station attached to an ETC Ion XE 20 lighting board, with the station connected via the 5-pin DMX output to the board.

My question is, where am i going wrong? Should I change the broadcast mode FROM XLR to the wifi/ethernet option? I get the generic error when looking for ART-Net nodes, but I feel as if this is a skylink specific problem.

I appreciate any feedback.

Thanks,
Fix
Fixxer
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2019 11:15 pm

bumping this myself, since i haven't seen any info on this particular setup w/o skypanels involved.

If anyone from the dev team has any info for me, im all ears!

-Fix
Silvan Liu
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2015 7:11 pm
Location: Burbank, California

Hi Fix,
The Skylink should indeed be set to WiFi/Ethernet when you wish to use Stellar. This setting defines which signal the Skylink uses to communicate to connected devices. This is also true if using SkyPanels in your setup. The base station will then act as your Artnet node.
Unfortunately the Skylink does not facilitate combining multiple sources such as a lighting console and Stellar.
Silvan Liu
ARRI Service - Burbank, California
Patrick Schulze
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2018 2:02 am

We do not recommend using Stellar in tandem with a console at this point, due to the mode-switching and DMX addressing capabilities in Stellar via RDM. This may interfere with your fixture modes and patching in the console. There are some ways to work around these issues, but they can become a bit complicated if you are not careful:

Allow enough of a DMX footprint between fixtures patched in your console to allow for the number of channels used by any one mode in Stellar. If you wish to use Extended Color Control in Stellar, that footprint could be up to 35 Channels. If you will NOT be using ECC, a minimum of 20 channels would suffice.
Make sure DMX Automatic Layout is turned OFF after discovery. Stellar will use the existing addresses of the fixtures as you have set them to use with your console.
I STRONGLY recommend you do not try to have both your console and Stellar to feed information to the fixtures at the same time, as HTP/LTP issues, along with channel alignment issues when changing modes via Stellar would cause conflicts between the two controllers. Disconnect your DMX output from your console before connecting to Stellar.
Finally, you would need to get the fixtures back to the mode you have patched in the console once you have finished working in Stellar. By default, Stellar uses 16Bit modes. If you are using 8Bit modes, be certain to set that preference each Fixtures RDM setup.
Most people tend to use Mode 6 CCT+RGBW in their consoles. Other Modes Stellar uses are M7-CCT; M10-HSI; M17-Gel; M19-X,Y; and M23-Effects....or their 8Bit equivalents.
I would recommend building a "Look" with each fixture in the mode you have patched in the console with a level of 0%. Execute this look before switching back to your console and quitting Stellar.
You must be VERY cautious if you attempt this, especially if it would be difficult to reach your fixtures should something go awry.
Oliverparson
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2021 9:28 am

Fixxer wrote:Hi,

I am trying to get 8 L5-C's, and 10 L7c's, to talk to the Stellar app, but I cant seem to do it. I logged into my base station, and made sure that the lights have RDM enabled. whatsapp plus

I typically have the Skylink Base station attached to an ETC Ion XE 20 lighting board, with the station connected via the 5-pin DMX output to the board.

My question is, where am i going wrong? Should I change the broadcast mode FROM XLR to the wifi/ethernet option? I get the generic error when looking for ART-Net nodes, but I feel as if this is a skylink specific problem.

I appreciate any feedback.

Thanks,
Fix
I found, the artnet package running inside of the DMX Sequencer isn't implementing the full spec and doesn't implement ArtPoll & ArtPollReply packets
Patrick Schulze
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2018 2:02 am

Hi Fix,
If you are using Stellar, you need to have the Base Station set to WiFi/Ethernet. Be careful when trying to integrate Stellar with another console. Since Stellar has the ability to manage your DMX layout, adjusting addresses along with RDM controlled Mode changes, you run the risk of stepping on other DMX addresses in your rig. You have the option to prevent Stellar from managing the DMX layout. If so, you can manually address fixtures, leaving a wide enough range for mode changes, and it will not affect the rest of your rig. A good suggestion would be to create a "look" returning the fixtures to the mode you have patched in your console before giving back control.
RogerEye1253
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 25, 2022 2:01 pm

Patrick Schulze wrote: Tue Feb 16, 2021 8:12 pm Hi Fix,
If you are using Stellar, you need to have the Base Station set to WiFi/Ethernet. Be careful when trying to integrate Stellar with another console. Since Stellar has the ability to manage your DMX layout, adjusting addresses along with RDM controlled Mode changes, you run the risk of stepping on other DMX addresses in your rig. You have the option to prevent Stellar from managing the DMX layout. If so, you can manually address fixtures, leaving a wide enough range for mode changes, and it will not affect the rest of your rig. A good suggestion would be to create a "look" returning the fixtures to the mode you have patched in your console before giving back control.
TyshawnBond
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2022 6:19 pm

Patrick Schulze wrote: Tue Feb 16, 2021 8:12 pm Hi Fix,
If you are using Stellar, you need to have whatsapp and the Base Station set to WiFi/Ethernet. Be careful when trying to integrate Stellar with another console. Since Stellar has the ability to manage your DMX layout, adjusting addresses along with RDM controlled Mode changes, you run the risk of stepping on other DMX addresses in your rig. You have the option to prevent Stellar from managing the DMX layout. If so, you can manually address fixtures, leaving a wide enough range for mode changes, and it will not affect the rest of your rig. A good suggestion would be to create a "look" returning the fixtures to the mode you have patched in your console before giving back control.
Your suggestion helped me thank you very much!
shero2022
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2022 3:34 pm

Patrick Schulze wrote: Tue Feb 16, 2021 8:12 pm Hi Fix,
If you are using Stellar, you need to have the Base Station set to WiFi/Ethernet. Be careful when trying to integrate Stellar with another console. Since Stellar has the ability to manage your DMX layout, adjusting addresses along with RDM controlled Mode changes, you run the risk of stepping on other DMX addresses in your rig. You have the option to prevent Stellar from managing the DMX layout. If so, you can manually address fixtures, leaving a wide enough range for mode changes, and it will not affect the rest of your rig. A good suggestion would be to create a "look" returning the fixtures to the mode you have patched in your console before giving back control.
thanks for the info .
Amanda126
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2022 12:06 pm

Patrick Schulze wrote: Tue Feb 16, 2021 8:12 pm Hi Fix,
If you are using Stellar, you need to have the Base Station set to WiFi/Ethernet. Be careful when trying to integrate Stellar with another console. Since Stellar has the ability to manage your DMX layout, adjusting addresses along with RDM controlled Mode changes, you run the risk of stepping on other DMX addresses in your rig. You have the option to prevent Stellar from managing the DMX layout. If so, you can manually address fixtures, leaving a wide enough range for mode changes, and it will not affect the rest of your rig. A good suggestion would be to create a "look" returning the fixtures to the mode you have patched in your console before giving back control.
Thanks for the information. It is really helpful.
Last edited by Amanda126 on Mon Sep 12, 2022 12:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Post Reply